Ivanna Cone: A Fun, Original Experience

This past weekend, my friends and I went to Ivanna Cone, an ice cream shop, for the first time.  I LOVE ice cream and definitely eat a lot more of it than I care to admit, so naturally I have been dying to try Ivanna Cone since I came to Lincoln.  It is in the Haymarket, which, for those of you that are unfamiliar with Lincoln like myself, is west of downtown Lincoln.  Located at the end of P Street, near the corner of P and 7th, it is only about a ten or fifteen minute walk from campus.  Ivanna Cone is in a quaint old building with a lot of character that also houses other businesses.  As soon as we walked through the door, my friends and I all commented on how good it smelled, and the scent reminded us all of Christmas.  I’m not exactly sure what we were smelling, but it was probably the sweet cream in the ice cream.  Whatever it was, it smelled wonderful.

There were a lot of flavors of ice cream to choose from.  Some were the traditional chocolate or strawberry while there were others that I had never heard of and sounded interesting, like dark chocolate peppermint pretzel.  One of the cool things about Ivanna Cone is that in addition to making the usual flavors of ice cream, they also make unique flavors every day.  They experiment with the ice cream recipes and only make a small amount of each of the special flavors.  I think this is a fun feature because it gives you the opportunity to try a different, original flavor every time you go.

Ivanna Cone also has the biggest waffle cones I have ever seen.  You have the option to get a sugar cone, a waffle cone, or a dish, and since I had heard the waffles cones were really good, I decided to go with that.  I got one scoop, and I don’t think it even filled half the cone.  I usually don’t get ice cream cones, and when I do, I have to take a bite of ice cream with each bite of cone.  However, this waffle cone was excellent, and I could eat it on its own.  The ice cream was delicious too.  You could tell it was homemade, and the texture was slightly more icy than creamy.  It was a tasty treat costing only about 3 or 4 dollars.

"Cookies and Cream" - Ivanna Cone

“Cookies and Cream” – Ivanna Cone

There were tables to sit at while we ate our ice cream, and the room had a cute, soda-shop kind of feel.  I would definitely recommend Ivanna Cone to anyone who likes ice cream and wants a fun, original experience.

One comment on “Ivanna Cone: A Fun, Original Experience

  1. Phil says:

    Who doesn’t like ice cream?!?! However, so much of what is available at the standard fast food joints lacks real character. Places like Ivanna Cone reminds one that making good ice cream is truly a culinary art!

Leave a comment